2016 Tournament Details

The Boston Park League hosted the 17th Annual Dick Clegg – Howie Stein Golf Tournament on Friday, October 21, 2016 with a 12:30PM start at the Easton Country Club. The Boston Park League named the Annual Golf Tournament in memory of Dick & Howie in 2000.

2016 Boston Park League Golf Tourney

A shotgun start, Florida-style best-ball format was used. The winners:

  • 1st place – Scooter Govoni, Dave MacTavish, Steve Smith, & Chris Plant
  • 2nd place – Rich Clegg, Ron Santos, Dave Hodgson, & Don Santos
  • Closest to the Pin (women) – Mary Leonard

See 2016 BPL Golf Tourney Photo Album.

Sponsors – Thank You!!

ADSL (All Dorchester Sports League) – Jim Cody
Boston Padres – Ed Neal
Boston Parks & Recreation Department
Cannon Club – Mike Aiena
Cypress Group – Sean Fay
Gloria & Phil Clegg
Grossman Marketing – Mary Ellen Grossman & Franz Strassman
In Memory of the Larkin Club & Howie Stein – Tony Langone HOF 2006
In Memory of Joe Reardon, HOF 1984
In Memory of Joe Mackey HOF 2000 – Toby Harvey HOF 2003
John Teehan, CBUANE Umpire
Marilyn & Bob Wilkinson HOF 1993
Mike Finn, BPL & CBUANE Umpire
Norm & Terry Govoni & family
Old Dorchester Post, American Legion #65
Pat, George, & Doug MacNeil HOF 1997
Palmer Club – JP Songin
R.T Austin Construction – Bob Austin
Scott “Scooter” Govoni HOF 2002
Sea Dog Brew Pub – Peter Lucido
South Shore Umpires Association
Sue Clegg
TJO Sports -Terence O’Mally & Bob Johnson
Towne Club – Harvey Soolman
Walt Bentson, BPL President, HOF 2005
Yawkey Foundation

2016 Boston Park League Golf Tourney

The Tournament Committee:

  • Greg Digirolamo, Tournament Chairman
  • Walt Bentson, President
  • Walt Mortimer, Secretary Treasurer

About Our Honorees:

Dick Clegg passed away in December 1999.  He started umpiring in 1967, worked his way up through high school, to the college level, and into the Park League.  He and his partner Jim McNally quickly became the best the league had to offer.  Dick umpired a full college spring schedule, traveling all over New England.  In 1985 he became the BPL Umpire in Chief, and held that position for the next 14 years.  He was named Umpire in Chief of the Cape Cod League in 1998.  A past President of the Eastern Mass. Baseball Umpires Association, his dedication to baseball and umpiring was exemplary.  He also loved playing golf. with his son Rich.  Dick was elected to the BPL Hall of Fame in 2000.

Howie Stein passed away in March 2000.  Howie was not an athlete, but one of the most dedicated individuals to amateur baseball in the City of Boston.  His love for the game brought him to Cleveland Circle back in 1968 where he met Jerry McCarthy, manager of the Wolf Club, and helped out with the team.  In 1976 he joined Bill Mahoney’s Mary Anne’s Club,   He would take a batting helmet through the stands for donations to pay for equipment.  He announced the players.  He became General Manager of the highly successful Larkin Club, winning 3 straight championships.  He was the little guy with the big voice.  Howie was inducted into the BPL Hall of Fame in 2000, along with Dick.

Looking Back

2015 Results

  • 1st place – Dave Liffers, Jake Urso, Dana Hansen, & Frank Tierney – 13 under par
  • 2nd place – Matt Lipsett, Ken Kozak, Sean Hudon, & Josh Tobin – 10 under par
  • 3rd place – Rich Clegg, Ron Santos, Joe Ryan, & Dave Hodgson – 9 under par
  • Longest Drive (women) – Mary Leonard
  • Longest Drive (men) – Rich Clegg
  • Closest to the Pin – Joe Cacciatore

Full details and photos from the 2015 Dick Clegg – Howie Stein Golf Tournament.

2014 Results

  • 1st place at 13 under – Norm Govoni, Scooter Govoni, Greg Dowd, & Dan Donato
  • 2nd place at 12 under – Rich Clegg, Ron Santos, Don Santos, & Dave Hodgson
  • 3rd place  at 11 under – Jason Santos, Jason Converse, Jeff McCarthy, & Steve McCarthy
  • Longest Drive – Greg Dowd
  • Closest to the Pin – Pat O’Brien

Full details and photos from the 2014 Dick Clegg – Howie Stein Golf Tournament.

2013 Results:

Three teams tied with 11 under par. Placement was determined with a card off:

  • First Place – Jason Santos, Jason Converse, Jeff McCarthy, & Matt Rossini
  • Second Place – Rich Clegg, Dave Hodgson, Ron Santos, & Don Santos
  • Third Place – Bob Johnson, Bobby Joyce, & Eric Turgeon Closest to the Pin – Mike Roccia Longest Drive – Rick Clegg

Full details and photos from the 2013 Dick Clegg – Howie Stein Golf Tournament.